About Us


Chandler SC Inc can trace it’s history back to a swimming club that was known both as the ‘Carina Amateur Swimming Club’ and the ‘Camp Hill/Carina Amateur Swimming Club’ during the 1960s and 1970s. The swimmers, trained at the Carina pool, an outside, unheated facility only a few kilometres from Chandler SC Inc's current home, The Brisbane Aquatic Centre, Sleeman Sports Complex.

When ‘The Brisbane Aquatic Centre’, also known as the Sleeman Sports Complex, was built for the 1982 Commonwealth Games, the ‘Carina Amateur Swimming Club’ won the right to lease lanes of the new 50 metre, heated, indoor pool, and so, relocated. The change of location led to a name change and the club became the ‘Carina/Chandler Swimming Club’. The first Head Coach was Mrs Myee Baumer. Myee was assisted by her husband, Rex. Myee Baumer had been coaching at the Carina pool and moved with the club into its new premises, while Rex became the Assistant Manager at the new complex.

Chandler SC Inc has had a number of swimmers and coaches represent their country at an international level, including:


Alice Mills (AIS Based) - Olympic Gold Medallist

Jodie Henry (AIS Based) - Olympic Gold Medallist and Former World Record Holder

Tahnee White (AIS Based) - Olympian and Commonwealth Games Medallist

Nerice Holland - World Champion 400m and 800m Freestyle (INSA), Telstra Swimmer with a Disability Swimmer of the Year for Australian Swimming and 2010 IPC World Championships, Athlete with a Disability at the Confederation of Sports for Queensland.

Anna-Liza Mopio-Jane (PNG) - Olympic Games

Caitlin Fletcher - Australian Champion and Australian representative for the Trans-Tasman Series

Rebecca Ohlwein - Australian representative at the World School Titles

Daniel Fox - Australian Record Holder (5 Records), IPC World Championships Medallist, 2012 London Paralympics, 2013 World Championship Gold Medallist and World Record Holder, 2014 Commonwealth Games, 2016 Rio Paralympic Medallist

Shayna Jack - 2015 Jnr Commonwealth Games Gold Medallist, 2015 World Junior Championship Gold Medallist, 2014 Junior Pan Pacs Gold Medallist, 2013 World Junior Championship Gold Medallist, Australian Age Record Holder

Emma McKeon - 2014 Commonwealth Games Medallist

David McKeon - 2016 Olympic Games, 2015 World Championship, 2014 Commonwealth Games Finalist

Mikayla Messer - 2016 Junior Pan Pacs Medallist, 2015 World Junior Championship Medallist

Jessica Ashwood - 2016 Olympic Games Finalist, 2015 World Championship Medallist

Jack McLoughlin - 2016 Olympic Games

Keryn McMaster - 2016 Olympic Games

Rachael Watson - 2016 Paralympic Gold Medallist


Drew McGregor (Coach) - Telstra Swimmer with a Disability Coach of the Year for Swimming Australia, Silver Licence - Coach of the Year

Robert Hindmarsh (Coach) - Coaching roles on Paralympic Team/s and Jnr Australian Team/s

Vince Raleigh (Coach) - Olympic Teams, World Championship Teams, Commonwealth Games Teams


Mission Statement

The Chandler SC Inc and its coaching staff aim to provide a place for young people to develop, not only as swimmers but also as confident, healthy, and independent individuals.

The club endeavours to provide a strong foundation from where every swimmer can go on to achieve their full potential, carrying the lessons learnt, through with them for the remainder of their lives.

It is the club’s intent that each and every member enjoys this journey.

Chandler SC Inc thanks our sponsors...

Carindale Heights
The Alex - McGuires Alexandra Hills Hotel
Gateway Containers
Grinners Trophies
Timer sports
Wahoo Pools
Egoli House of Design Jewellers
Cogent Scaffolding
Simply Beautiful Gifts
Guillain Barre Syndrome
Blue Haven Pools
Cannon Central
Capalaba Pool Mart
Wynnum Marine